life.

A Little India Update!

I need to say the world’s biggest thankyou for those of you who have been praying for me as I prepare to travel to India! I have been so blessed over the last few weeks since I announced my trip, and I’m so exciting for all that God is doing right now, so thankyou thankyou thankyou!

So many of the things I asked you to pray for have been, or are being, worked out right now. My trip is slightly confusing because I have to apply to two separate organisations, to go and work with one organisation. But that’s me alright, trying to do things in the most complicated way ever!

So, as promised, here is my India update!

  • References. Like I said, it’s all very confusing, and applying to two separate organisations means I need two sets of references (another big thankyou here goes to Tom and Dave for being willing to wade through all of this paperwork. You’re both heroes). My references for Frishta have all been done, so this side of things is progressing wonderfully, so the next step is for my Elim references to get sorted. Because you only have to give Elim six weeks’ notice of your desire to travel with them, there are people ahead of me who need sorting out first, so this is probably as far as references will be for now but it’s a step in the right direction! Please continue to pray for Tom and Dave as they’ve been really sacrificial with their time to do this paperwork for me, and please pray that my references are what both organisations are looking for!
  • Vaccinations. I’m not looking forward to these, at all. So, I had my initial chat with the nurse and it turns out a lot of the vaccinations I need, I can get on the NHS. This is such a huge answer to prayer, because at one point, it looked like my vaccinations alone were going to cost me nearly £400, which is just too much. Because I’m going to be in India for quite a while, doing quite a range of things, they’re going to give me more injections that I will probably need, just to be on the safe side, but I only need to pay for three injections (one of which I definitely might not need) and, in total, my injections are going to cost less than £300. I go back to the doctors in mid-October to confirm my injections, pay for them and get them ordered. Please pray that I don’t get too stressed with the injections. I have a phobia of needles, which is not nice, but also when I’ve had injections in the past, I always get a fever and feel a bit rubbish for a few days. I’ve been told by the nurse that this is a good sign, because it shows that I’m fighting off whatever they’ve injected me with, which is always helpful, but please pray that the whole area of vaccinations just goes as smoothly as possible.
  • Finances. I’m still not sure how much this trip is going to cost, but God has already been providing for this trip financially in ways that I never even thought possible. I’ve been completely blown away by His faithfulness! I have a meeting with my Pastor tomorrow to chat about how my church can help me raise some money, which is another huge blessing. My church are so wonderful! Please pray that the meeting is productive and that we think of some creative ideas to raise some money!
  • That God would be present. As I sit down to write this, it’s been really beautiful to look back over my preparation and to see just how present God has really been. I’ve been so wrapped up with going back to college that I haven’t given India a whole lot of thought, so I’ve loved looking back and seeing God in the detail. What an amazing God we have!

I mentioned earlier that things on the Frishta side were progressing really well, and they are! Now that my references are all done, these get passed on to the missionaries that are working in India and I get the opportunity to Skype them! I am really looking forward to ‘meeting’ the people I’m potentially going to spend five weeks working with, and really getting some more information about my trip! When I Skype them it’ll sort of be like an interview, but it will be two-way: I’ll get to ask them questions as well as them asking me – it’s like a ‘getting to know each other’ session before I go out there. Then, my dates are confirmed and I can get my visa!

This is really starting to become real now, which is such an odd feeling. I’ve wanted to work overseas for so long now, and it finally feels that God is saying yes! Please continue to pray that the details of this trip would fall into place really easily and that there won’t be anything that gets in the way of me going!

You’re all wonderful! Thank you for praying with me and getting excited with me!

2 thoughts on “A Little India Update!

  1. What exciting news!! Thanks so much for posting an update. I’ll be in prayer for God to work out all the details smoothly–for shots, finances, paperwork, etc.

Leave a Reply

