life.

One More Day.

It’s only one more day until I’ll be on my way to the airport, to get on a plane to take me somewhere that’s worlds away from here.

Source: http://wallpapersgift.com/taj-mahal-hd-wallpaper-free-download/sunset-at-taj-mahal/
Source

Honestly, I’m not ready to go. I’ve got things that I still need to buy, my suitcases are barely packed, I need to tax my car before I leave, I need to talk to my bank and probably about one-hundred-and-fifty other things I haven’t even thought of.

But there’s something deeper about this trip that I’m not prepared for. I can deal with an empty suitcase and no shampoo and the fact that all the money I have is in the wrong currency. But I can’t deal with thinking about the stories of these kids. I can’t deal with the fact that these kids are unwanted and unloved by the very families they were born into. I can’t deal with the idea of seeing the hurt and rejection in their eyes.

But the only way I can even think about taking this trip is with an overflowing of Jesus-grace so I can take this overflow and allow it to flow over into these little lives of those who the world has written off, but who Jesus accepts without question or hesitation. And I want to mirror this for these kids.

I can’t even begin to find the words to explain how I’m feeling about my trip, because it still hasn’t completely sunk in that I’m actually going. And yet, somehow, in 26 hours, I’ll be leaving my home comforts behind as I set off for the airport and in 29 hours I’ll be getting ready to take off and leave England far behind. And honestly?

I can’t wait.

I can’t wait to be away from the pressure of Western culture and the sense of entitlement and be fully immersed in a culture that’s full of different colours and smells and sights and sounds.

But I’m afraid as well. I’m afraid of the changes that God is going to bring in me and the challenges I’m going to face. So, with this in mind, there are a couple of things that I would love to you to pray for.

  • Safe travels. My parents are driving me to the airport tomorrow. Please pray that they get to and from the airport safely. Please also pray that I get to India safely and that both my flights run smoothly and that in-country travel goes well.
  • Health. People keep ‘helpfully reminding’ me that I could end up with an upset stomach and insect bites and other ickiness. Please pray that I don’t get ill, and if I do, that I recover quickly and can get on with the work I’m going to do.
  • That I keep it all about Jesus. I don’t want to lose sight of why I’m going, and I definitely don’t want to go on my own. Please pray that I would have the courage to be obedient and step out in faith, even when this is scary.

Thank you so much for following my trip with me, and thank you for all your lovely words and prayers and support. I can’t wait to talk to you from India!

5 thoughts on “One More Day.

  1. Love the photograph. You are doing an amazing job. Have fun enjoying the food 😉 Can’t wait to here all about it. As soon as your back, I’ll take you for an Indian takeaway ;). lots of love sarah xxxx

Leave a Reply

