life.

Thankful Thursday {From India!}

Being in India has been so wonderfully/challenging/heartbreaking/joyful/different and it is a little bit overwhelming. While there are things about England that I’m missing {right now, the food is probably the big on, aside from friends and family}, I feel so blessed that I am able to spend these five weeks in India, even with all of the different sights/smells/etc.

I’ve been in India for ten whole days. I can’t believe how quickly time is going, and yet at the same time, it feels like I’ve been here for months. I go from wanting to stay here forever to wishing the next three weeks away so I can just go home, so my heart is in a little bit of a mess right now, but God is still good. So here are ten things I’ve been thankful for over the last ten days.

  1. Lots of big smile. The children here are so full of joy, despite everything they’ve been through, and I just love looking at their smiles. When I walk into a room now, I can hear chourses of “good afternoon, Shelley mam!” and before too long, I’m being enveloped into a massive bundle of cuddles with ten children all desperate to say hello and have a cuddle. And it’s probably the nicest feeling in the world.
  2. Feeling safe. After the disastrous journey  to get to Frishta, I’m suddenly overwhelmed at the different ways God protects His children. Never once have I felt unsafe since arriving in India, even with all the stories of tourists getting mugged and things. I always feel completely safe.
  3. Hearing scripture read in Hindi. This is probably one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever heard. Hindi is such a beautiful language, and hearing the children sing songs to Jesus in this language is just precious. IMG_3350
  4. Hearing God speak. It’s taken me to travel to another continent, but having precious time listening for God’s voice while I’ve been here, away from the distractions that I face at home, has been worth every mile I’ve traveled and every penny I’ve spent getting here. I think this is the main reason I’d be happy to stay here – because right now, I have time and space to listen to God, and between college and work and essays and eating-and-sleeping-and-breathing, I think I miss out on a lot of this at home.
  5. Seeing God’s creation in a whole new way. There’s a whole other story to this, but one of the biggest things I’ve learned while being here is that the God that I know and love and serve in England has come with me to India, and is the same God that I know and love and serve. And there’s so much power in realising this. God is God, no matter where I am.
  6. Being able to connect with people from back home. So I know I’ve said that I love spending time here in India, and I honestly do. This is probably the best thing I’ve ever done. But I’m a homegirl really, so being able to have quick chats with people back home makes me enjoy this time here even more, because I get my little taste of home, and then can move on from missing England and go back to spending time with the children here.
  7. The sunshine has come out! I’ve been waiting for this ever since I arrived, and it’s starting to warm up now, even in our little village. For the first time in I don’t know how long, I’ve been able to go outside without a hoodie on! So I’m still in long sleeves, but that’s another issue. The fact is, the warm weather is on its way!IMG_3333
  8. Warm water. The water for the showers here is warmed using solar power, and we had no sunshine. No sunshine = freezing cold showers. While the showers are still cold, I do get hot water from a tap. So while it’s not a hot shower, it’s warm water, and it runs for as long as I need it, so I’m counting my blessings that I get running water AND it’s warm enough for me to wash with. Yay for silver linings!
  9. Learning new skills. Since I’ve been here, I’ve been a childminder, admin assistant, accountant, cook, storyteller,dance teacher, preacher, and all at the same time as being just me. I’ve learned things I do like doing, and things I definitely don’t like doing. And I’ve learned that just being me is actually pretty good.
  10. Having those “…But God” moments. There have been so many times where something could have gone wrong, whilst planning my trip, traveling, and even being here at Frishta. But God always shows up. And for that I will be forever grateful.

Thank you so much for keeping me and my trip in your prayers. I’ve got so many things I want to share, but time with internet access is pretty limited. I would ask that you keep praying for my trip, and I will try and share more as and when I can.

Blessings! xo

6 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday {From India!}

  1. I’m so glad you posted and that things are going well. Praying for you…

    I remember spending time away from my family when I was younger (I spent 5 weeks in France – on two separate occasions when I was in high school). I so wanted to fully enjoy my experience, but I was so, so homesick both times. So I can relate to how you are feeling about being away from your home. Praying you can fully immerse yourself in this trip.

  2. What a beautiful post! I love reading these and can’t wait to hear even more about your trip once you are home, where there is abundant internet access!! : )

Leave a Reply

