Compassion · life.

Let’s Talk About India: Coming Home and a New Adventure

Last week marked three months since I got back from India. Honestly. I’m having a hard time believing I’ve been home for three weeks. Before I went to India, I promised myself (and anyone else who would listen!) that I wouldn’t get the travel bug and that my feet would forever remain on British soil.

I’m such a liar.

Turns out, I quite like traveling. Okay, so maybe not the actual ‘traveling’ part of it (do you remember the interesting journey I had to take to even get to India?!) but I do like meeting the people, getting to know the culture, and even the food wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be!

IMG_3481

More than anything else in the world right now, I want to go back. Or at least, I want to go somewhere. I encountered Jesus in such a way that I can’t forget while I was in this place. I still can’t fully process in my mind just what happened when I was there.

So much has happened in the last three months. I went back to college to finish my last ever term as a student, and before I could turn around, it was time for our valedictory service. I’m not a student anymore!

10358366_234646190079676_43880607_n

Because I’ve known that the end of college was so near, I’ve been gently pushing doors on a few different trips, to different places to do different things, but none of them have given me that sense of peace, where God says “Come on, Shelley. This is the adventure I want to take you on!”. So I keep looking. And praying. And getting very frustrated at spending too long on England. And, just as only God can, the perfect opportunity landed in my lap.

Well…in my inbox.

Last summer, I sponsored beautiful eighteen year old Dorcus from Kenya through Compassion in memory of my wonderful nan, who passed away when I was fifteen. I chose Dorcus for two reasons: the first reason is that she shares a birthday with my nan, and I loved this connection. Secondly, Dorcus struggles at school. When I was in secondary school, I struggled a lot, in a different way to Dorcus, but school wasn’t great for me. It was my nan that I would want to talk to about it, and it was my Nan who always encouraged me. I wanted to be the support to Dorcus that my nan was to me, so I decided to sponsor her.

Dorcus aged 16

Because of this special connection between Dorcus and my nan, I knew that I had to get out to Kenya to meet this precious young woman before she graduates the programme in 2018. I had no idea how I could possibly make this work, until around two weeks ago. I received an email from the lovely folk at the Compassion UK office, inviting me to travel with them to Kenya, to see firsthand the work they are doing and with the opportunity to meet Dorcus!

I called the office yesterday and paid my deposit, so now I can officially say that I’ll be spending a week in November in Kenya! My goodness, our God’s plans are so much more exciting than ours!

Before I was even guaranteed a place, God was already orchestrating some pretty incredible things. Because of the nature of my job, getting the time off, in many ways, was going to be the easy part. Finding the money, however, was the challenge. The morning after I received the email from Compassion (so before I was even guaranteed a place on the trip!), my mum was having a conversation with some friends, who later gave me £200 towards my trip! They’ve visited Kenya, and were amazed at all God was doing there, and they didn’t want me to miss out because of finances, so they gave me this money! This money alone nearly covered the deposit, so now there is no way I can be worried about God not providing for this trip.

I don’t really have any other details right now, but I can’t put into words how excited I am to be a part of this wonderful ministry, and a part of this trip! It’s such a relief to finally be able to make it public knowledge that I’m going, now it’s all been made official!

Please, please, join me in praying that all of the details would work out, that the money will come through, and everything will be, like India, just beautiful.

20 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About India: Coming Home and a New Adventure

  1. Oh my goodness, Shelley, sooo exciting!!!!! You’re going to love going on a Compassion trip and meeting Dorcas will be so special! In fact, at my youth group last night, there was a pastor from Kenya who was talking about like in Kenya/Africa. He wanted all of us to go back with him to Kenya (and I so wanted to!) and experience life there because it is so different from here. I’m sooo happy for you, Shelley! Those five months will fly by 🙂 Yay!

    1. Lizzie, I’m so excited!! Thanks 🙂 I remember when India was five months away, and now I’ve been home for three months already! To keep me patient, I’m gonna be following you to Mexico 🙂

      1. I imagine so! I found out I was going to Mexico five months from the trip and now it’s just 5 weeks away! That’s crazy that you’ve been home 3 months already! It doesn’t seem like that long ago you were in India

  2. Woo hoo!! Congrats on your graduation and your upcoming trip.

    Although our trip to Thailand was HARD, we are already talking about where we’ll go as a family next. We have a couple friends we’d like to visit – to see what they are doing and meet our Compassion kids. Maybe Nicaragua, maybe Dominican Republic, maybe Uganda…

  3. Wow, what an awesome opportunity to meet this special young lady and follow God’s plan for you! (And I absolutely understand your feelings of restlessness and longing for more after returning from India.)

    1. Emily, I’m so glad someone else gets it! Right now, I don’t feel God calling me to move somewhere else, or be somewhere long term, but my heart lives for these short term trips (especially when they involve meeting my sponsored children!) 🙂

    1. God will have to provide a LOT of money for be to be able to do both! I’m heartbroken about missing the CO trip, but at the same time, I feel totally peaceful about taking this trip…which is a strange combination! I’ll definitely be following your trip to CO! I can’t wait to hear what centres you’ll be visiting 🙂

  4. I love hearing how God guided you to this trip!! I am so excited for you and will be praying for Him to provide the rest of the finances and to bless your time in Kenya. I am so excited for you!!

  5. Hi, I have only just come across your blog. Back in the 80’s I planned to work in India as I felt God’s call. I expected to go from A to B. Over the years I have followed Jesus as he has led, but it was around unexpected bends ,valleys and mountains and I have been to C,D and E via Z,Y and X! So be prepared for adventures and surprises. May he bless you greatly. x

    1. Thanks so much! I certainly know about taking the long route to where God wants us! I’m learning so much about the importance of trust and obedience, and I guess we’ll see what happens!

Leave a Reply

