Uncategorized

Restoration

I’ve been to India.

I’ve been to India.

I’ve been to India.

I still can’t believe it actually happened. I was talking to a friend about it this evening. About how God has blown my dreams out of the water this year and done more than I could ever have imagined He would.

All in the space of about ten months.

I’ve wanted to go on overseas mission for years. Ever since I became a Christian when I was thirteen, sat on my sister’s bed reading a little leaflet about deciding to follow Jesus, I wanted to go somewhere that wasn’t England to do something amazing. I didn’t know where I wanted to go or what I wanted to do, but I wanted to go.

Mission opportunities came and went, and God kept the doors firmly closed. I became really frustrated and angry at my lack of ‘going’ and ‘doing’ that I decided that I just wasn’t going to go anywhere. Ever.

Because I was a very stroppy, over-dramatic individual at seventeen. Seriously.

Because of all these doors closing and me being my over-dramatic self, I was crazy surprised when my trip to India all worked out (ignoring the journey there..!) and I actually got to Frishta to spend time with twenty one of the most amazing children and young people that I have ever met ever.

IMG_3336

Now, before I can even finish processing all that God was trying to teach me in India, I’m off again.

90 days from now, I’ll be in Kenya with Compassion, working alongside them, learning more about this wonderful ministry and meeting my precious sponsored child, Dorcus.

What. Even. Is. This?! I remember when India was 90 days away, and I’ve been back on English soil for nearly six months already. And now I’m getting ready to go again. Less than ten months after my first ever mission trip.

The weird/worrying/wonderful thing? It just feels right. I’ve been struggling in so many ways since graduating from Bible College. I’ve been craving a ‘grown up job’ for so long, but when I read the job descriptions and actually think about applying, I suddenly feel like a little girl playing at being a grown up. But when I’m planning fundraisers/sorting out flights/on the plane/at the destination, I don’t feel like I’m pretending, and probably because it’s one of the few areas of my life where I feel I don’t have to. I honestly don’t think this whole mission thing is a long term thing (I would like a ‘proper grown up job’ one day, please and thank you), but right now I can’t think much past November.

As I was talking about this with a friend, I was reminded of that great verse of Scripture in Joel 2:25, which says “”I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten– the great locust and the young locust, the other locusts and the locust swarm — my great army that I sent among you.

Of all the years that I felt angry and frustrated and lost, God has been planning these wonderful opportunities for me, and they have been perfect in every way…even traumatic travel plans going wrong in every sense possible! I can now honestly say that God is the God of restoration, and that’s a beautiful thing to come to realise.

IMG_3377

2 thoughts on “Restoration

  1. I love how God is opening doors for you to travel abroad to see His work!! I remember graduating from college and going to Bolivia…and then Argentina…and then the Dominican Republic. It’s such a blessing to be able to travel, experience new cultures, rely on God outside of our comfort zones and to fellowship with believers of a different country!! I miss that right now, but am also excited about my new stage of life with two little ones. But I will be eagerly following your adventures and living vicariously through you!!

Leave a Reply

