Uncategorized

Kenya: 22 days!

I’ve failed a little bit at talking about Kenya over the last few months {unless you’ve been stood in front of me for more than about 6.4 seconds…I can’t seem to hold a conversation right now without mentioning this trip!}. So many of you have told me how you have been praying for me over the last few months, and I wanted to take some time to tell you that I am so indescribably grateful for all of your prayers and kind words and support.

So much has happened since the Summer, so I’m going to do my best to do a quick whistle-stop tour!

After my eating challenge, I had the chance to do a cake sale at church. Some wonderful people donated some beautiful cakes towards my sale. My church are some of the most supportive people I know, and I managed to raise over £110 towards my trip!

UntitledHalfway through September, I made my final payment towards my trip! This completely blew me away because two weeks before the payment deadline, I left my job. I ended up taking on another two jobs, but paydays didn’t line up with payment deadline day, but God is so much bigger than payday {which I am SO grateful for!}. The way God has been providing for this trip is just completely mind-blowing and it has been such an amazing faith journey.

At the beginning of October, I received my flight and hotel details, along with this beautiful tour guide and journal! It’s so exciting to be able to read about all that we will be doing in Kenya, and it’s definitely making this trip seem a lot more real!

This weekend just gone, I finally got round to applying for my visa {because I am Queen of The Last Minute}. According to the Kenya High Commission, the process should only take about three days {but I am also Queen of the Stressing Out} so I’m praying so hard that my visa and passport show up in plenty of time!

As Kenya is just 22 days away, there are some things I would love you to pray for.

  • Please pray that my visa and passport come back in plenty of time and that the whole process goes through without any hiccups. It would be so frustrating to get so close to the trip, and not have my visa or passport!
  • Please also pray that my health would stay as good as it has been. Please also pray that I won’t have any reactions to the malaria tablets that I’ll be taking (or reactions to anything else for that matter!). Please pray for general health and safety stuff too (I’d rather not come home with a broken bone this time…).
  • Please pray for Dorcus, my sponsored child. I’m so excited about meeting her, but I’m also beyond nervous. Please pray that the time we spend together would be all that God wants it to be, and that I’d be able to engage with her and offer her the encouragement she needs.

I’m secretly hoping that the next 22 days will go quickly, but then I remember just how much I have to do between now and then, so I change my mind pretty quickly. Please pray that I would find as much joy in the preparation as I do in the trip itself.

4 thoughts on “Kenya: 22 days!

  1. Your time with Dorcus will be amazing! I think you’ll do fine with the malaria pills. And I stressed about my visa, too! Everything works out in the end! I hope you have frequent wifi access so we can keep up with your trip. I’m so excited for you!!!

    1. I’m praying so hard that everything will work out okay! I think I’ll be a lot more content once I have my visa in my hand! I also really need to start packing – only seventeen days to go! 🙂

      Apparently we’ll have wifi access at the hotel so I’ll try and keep in touch. Although it’s not as long as India 🙂 I’m also gonna journal lots so it’ll be easier to write about once I’m home.

Leave a Reply

